Blackstrap Sailing Club 2022 Eb's Sunset Series Wednesday nights May and June 2022

NOTICE OF RACE SERIES

- 1. Venue Blackstrap Sailing Club.
- 2. **Rules** The races will be governed by the 2021-2024 Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS).
- 3. **Eligibility** Each competitor must be a member in good standing of the Blackstrap Sailing Club.
- 4. **Classes** All dinghies are welcome.
- 5. **Schedule** 8 Wednesday evenings: May 11, May 18, May 25, June 1, June 8, June 15, June 22, and June 29. First race at 6:00 PM, with maximum 5 races per evening (40 races in total). Each race will be approximately 10-15 minutes in length.
- 6. **Scoring** The Low Point System will be used as described in RRS Appendix A, except that:
 - RRS A2.1 is modified such that no scores will be excluded from a boat's total score.
 - RRS A5.2 is modified such that a boat that does not correctly finish a race shall be scored points for the finishing place one more than the number of boats entered that evening. This also applies to boats that are absent from an evening of racing.
 - In an effort to avoid long waits between races, an "On Course Finish" may be given at the discretion of the Race Committee, with a boat's score being their current position (no extra score added).
- 7. **Race Committee** Participants are expected to run an evening of races, and will receive a score of zero for a maximum of one evening. This modifies RRS A5.2.
- 8. **Start** 2-1-30s-Go starting sequence, with minimal time between races. This modifies RRS 26. All boats will start under the same class flag.

- 9. **Course** Windward-Leeward with either a reaching finish or upwind finish. In the event of heavy winds, a Triangle course may be set up with no running legs.
- 10. **Safety** All participants are required to wear an approved PFD when on the water. Safety inspections may be conducted to ensure that all boats comply. During evenings with cold weather, the 3 Dump Rule may apply.
- 11. Awards The Sunset Series Cup shall be presented after the last race of the final evening of the series. Prizes will be available for Top 5 Overall and Top 5 Youth (18 and under), with no duplicate wins.

History

The evening race tradition was started by Eb Fass, an original founder of the Blackstrap Sailing Club. Sunset racing is five short races encouraging sailors to improve boath handling, starts, mark roundings, and fleet tactivs. It is an excellent way to prepare for the summer of racing. The fundamental mission of the Sunset Series is to "*encourage all sailors, slow or fast, young or old, novice or elite to have fun sailing and racing*".

Past Youth Champions

1999 Brad Grant 2000 Brad Grant 2001 Brad Grant 2002 Sidney Byrns 2003 Jo-el van Bergen 2004 Mickey Pawlyshyn 2005 Corey Coons 2006 Paul Lagace 2007 Paul Lagace 2008 Kendal Ross/Jorden Guillou 2009 Payton Byrns 2010 Tanys Byrns 2011 Tanys Byrns 2012 Alec Watters 2013 Andre Gagnon 2014 Andre Gagnon 2015 Kate Langhorne 2016 Kate Langhorne 2017 Andre Gagnon 2018 Andre Gagnon 2019 Isaac Haughn